27.02.2021

Two years ago, we at The Company Journey Guides set off again into the future. Courageously, committed and with a lot of esprit. A retrospective on the first year, at the end of January 2020, showed a differentiated picture of how the alignment had succeeded and illuminated how we had actually made a few rookie mistakes ourselves. At that time, it could be read how we want to work on this in a next sprint. And then came Corona. So the TCJG Future Journey 2.0 came to a standstill. And is currently undergoing its relaunch as TCJG Future Journey 3.0.

Start 2.0

A quick look at blogs and the documentary shows – two years ago, we set out on our TCJG Future Journey 2.0. A good four years after the founding of TCJG, the Future Journey 1.0, that was simply the next step. A look, a direction into the future. A strategic redesign.
Things got off to a good start, and the first stage was met with a great deal of joy and energy. We had formulated the purpose together with the team right at the beginning and a north star quickly pointed the way. The next step, defining our ideas in a governance and thus formulating the foundations of our culture, also worked out very well. Not to forget the co-creation of our new website as a carrier of our future orientation.

Stumbling stones along the way

So far so good. And just as we started, the first distractions came. Everyday life took hold again and displaced the co-creative space and the euphoria. First delays occurred, our common journey temporarily moved out of focus. And already the spirit began to weaken. That happens quickly, and a year quickly comes to an end without any important next steps having been taken. In the retro at the end of January 2020, there was talk of this and also of how this could be captured in a next sprint. They were still just stumbling stones.

That was it for 2.0

A little over a year ago, at the end of February, we were just about to hold a restart workshop for our TCJG Future Journey 2.0. And then events came thick and fast. First, a TCJG founding member and co-managing director spontaneously decided to take on a new challenge. And away he went. And two weeks later, Corona was there. The first week after the lock-down was marked by cancellations. The order books for the next months, which were quite full, were emptied within three days.

And that was it for 2.0. Now it was more a matter of squaring the circle. From now on, think everything in virtual terms. Within a very short time, we had to massively expand our own digital competence. Redesign concepts, create new designs. First attempts. You can do it. Quickly become bolder.
Within four weeks, something like a new, completely new everyday life had set in.

In no man’s land between today and tomorrow

In a completely different form, this is how a TCJG realignment came about. Unplanned, chaotic, disturbing and at the same time close and connecting in the team. We shared daily in each other’s fate, we listened to each other, we wrapped up understanding for each other. We met in “kitchens”, “bedrooms” and next to the “cuckoo clocks”. Live reports from Bergamo have shaped our day, as well as the narrowness of a mountain village without guests in Austria.

There was no thought of the future. We simply thought from today to tomorrow. There were some days when we wondered if and how things would continue. And there were also days when we thought we wouldn’t be able to do it as well as we usually do. Especially since in the middle of the year, planned, a long-term and experienced guide started to work independently. And we have also somehow compensated for this and from May still two new colleagues virtually taken on board.

In July, we started with 40 virtual sessions, not counting the virtual coaching sessions.
In the fall, the presence sessions were supposed to start again. And indeed, we managed 15 external days in empty hotels and conference centers before the next lock-down light and then lock-down in full version was announced.

A safe bench for us was that we have been working a lot in the development of learning architectures, designs and concepts for years. This has stabilized us well again.

What a roller coaster ride, back to the future.
Unexpectedly with a good operational end in 2020 and exciting new prospects in 2021.

TCJG Future Journey 3.0

Alright, if that’s the case, then let’s take a look at our future again. But this will no longer be a 2.0. This is now the TCJG Future Journey 3.0, which we are thinking about and developing from the future.
We already know how to design the Future Journey. What’s new is that the journeys are now being recreated more frequently and at shorter intervals. Strategy in sprints, so to speak.

Familiar and new faces and people have come together and are transforming what was into what will be. How exciting is that. An understanding that there is no going back to what was. And a bunch of vague and also more concrete ideas about what might come.
New skills enrich the TCJG team and fuel a change of perspective.

It’s the end of February again. Time for a TCJG vision workshop. We are planning it for March. Still in lock-down. So be it. We know and can do how virtual vision workshops work by now.

Turning back to the future is really exciting. The TCJG Future Journey 3.0 has begun.
We will continue to report on the next stage of the it.

Future Journey

27.02.2021

Vor zwei Jahren sind wir bei The Company Journey Guides wieder in die Zukunft aufgebrochen. Mutig, engagiert und mit viel Esprit. Eine Retrospektive zum ersten Jahr, Ende Januar 2020, zeigte ein differenziertes Bild, wie die Ausrichtung gelungen war und beleuchtete wie uns tatsächlich doch auch selbst ein paar Anfängerfehler unterlaufen sind. Damals war zu lesen, wie wir daran in einem nächsten Sprint arbeiten wollen. Und dann kam Corona. So kam die TCJG Future Journey 2.0 zum Stillstand. Und erfährt als TCJG Future Journey 3.0 gerade ihren Relaunch.

Aufbruch 2.0

Ein Blick in Blogs und die Doku zeigt – vor gut zwei Jahren waren wir aufgebrochen zu unserer TCJG Future Journey 2.0. Gut vier Jahre nach der Gründung von TCJG, der Future Journey 1.0, war das einfach dran. Ein Blick, die Ausrichtung in die Zukunft. Ein strategisches Redesign.
Es ging gut los, die erste Etappe war mit viel Freude und Energie gleicht gut gelungen. Den Purpose hatten wir gleich zu Beginn gemeinsam mit dem Team formuliert und ein Nordstern wies zügig den Weg. Auch der Folgeschritt, unsere Ideen in einer Governance zu definieren und damit die Grundlagen unserer Kultur zu formulieren hat noch super geklappt. Nicht zu vergessen die Co-Creation unserer neuen Website als Träger unserer Zukunftsausrichtung.

Das war eine wundervolle Erfahrung, gemeinsam und kollaborativ mit dem Team Zukunft zu bauen. Wir haben fast alles selbst geschaffen. Das Design der Website, die Texte, die Visuals und die Bilder. Jeder brachte sich ein, nach seinen Interessen und Fähigkeiten, mit unterschiedlicher Intensität.

Stolpersteine auf dem Weg

So weit so gut. Kaum unterwegs kamen dann die ersten Ablenkungen. Der Alltag packte wieder zu und verdrängte den co-kreativen Raum und die Euphorie. Erste Verzögerungen traten ein, unsere gemeinsame Reise rückte vorübergehend aus dem Fokus. Und schon lies der Spirit nach. Schnell geht das und schnell ist dann ein Jahr zu Ende, ohne dass wichtige nächste Steps erfolgt sind. In der Retro Ende Januar 2020 war davon die Rede und auch davon, wie das in einem nächsten Sprint einzufangen wäre. Noch waren es nur Stolpersteine.

Das wars dann mit 2.0

Vor gut einem Jahr standen wir Ende Februar gerade kurz vor einem Restart-Workshop für unsere TCJG Future Journey 2.0. Und dann haben sich die Ereignisse überschlagen. Zuerst hat sich ein TCJG Gründungsmitglied und Co-Geschäftsführer recht spontan entschlossen eine neue Herausforderung anzunehmen. Und weg war er. Und zwei Wochen später war Corona da. Die erste Woche nach dem Lock-Down war geprägt von Stornos. Die durchaus gefüllten Auftragsbücher für die nächsten Monate waren innerhalb von drei Tage geleert.

Und das wars dann auch mit 2.0. Da war jetzt eher die Quadratur des Kreises gefragt. Von jetzt auf sofort alles in virtuell denken. Innerhalb kürzester Zeit die eigene Digitalkompetenz massiv ausbauen. Konzepte umstricken, neue Designs entwerfen. Erste zaghafte Versuche. Geht doch. Schnell mutiger werden.
Innerhalb von vier Wochen trat so etwas wie ein neuer, ein ganz neuer Alltag ein.

Im Niemandsland zwischen heute und morgen

In vollkommen anderer Form entstand so eine TCJG Neuausrichtung. Ungeplant, chaotisch, verstörend und gleichzeitig im Team nahe und verbindend. Wir haben täglich am Schicksal des Anderen teilgehabt, wir haben uns zugehört, wir haben Verständnis füreinander einwickelt. Wir haben uns in den „Küchen“, den „Schlafzimmern“ und neben den „Kuckucksuhren“ getroffen. Liveberichte aus Bergamo haben unseren Tag ebenso gestaltet, wie die Enge eines Bergdorfs ohne Gäste in Österreich.

Da war nicht an Zukunft zu denken. Wir haben einfach von heute auf morgen gedacht. Es gab manchen Tag, wo wir uns gefragt haben, ob und wie es weitergeht. Und auch manchen Tag, wo wir dachten, das kriegen wir jetzt nicht in der Güte gebacken, wie das sonst unser Stil ist. Zumal Mitte des Jahres, geplant, ein langjähriger und erfahrener Guide in die Selbständigkeit wechselte. Und auch das haben wir irgendwie ausgeglichen und ab Mai noch zwei neue Kolleginnen virtuell an Bord genommen.

Im Juli waren wir dann mit 40 virtuellen Sessions am Start, die virtuellen Coachings nicht mitgezählt.
Im Herbst sollten die Präsenzeinheiten wieder starten. Und tatsächlich, wir brachten es auf 15 externe Tage in leeren Hotel und Konferenzzentren bevor sich der nächste Lock Down light und dann Lock Down in Vollversion ankündigte.

Eine sichere Bank war uns, dass wir ja seit Jahren viel im Thema Entwicklung von Learning Architekturen, Designs und Konzepten unterwegs sind. Das hat uns ergänzend wieder gut stabilisiert.

Welch Achterbahnfahrt, zurück in die Zukunft.
Unerwartet mit einem guten operativen Ende 2020. Und spannenden neuen Perspektiven 2021.

TCJG Future Journey 3.0

Gut, wenn das so ist, dann nehmen wir jetzt unsere Zukunft wieder in den Blick. Das wird dann aber kein 2.0 mehr. Das ist jetzt die TCJG Future Journey 3.0. Die denken und erarbeiten wir gerade von der Zukunft her kommend.
Wie Future Journey gestalten geht, wissen wir ja schon. Neu ist, dass die Reisen jetzt häufiger und in kürzeren Abständen neu kreiert werden. Strategie in Sprints sozusagen.

Bekannte und neue Gesichter und Menschen haben sich zusammen gefunden und sind dabei das zu transformieren, was war in das was wird. Wie spannend ist das denn. Ein Verständnis darüber, dass es ein Zurück zu dem was war, nicht mehr gibt. Und einem Haufen vager und auch konkreterer Ideen zu dem, was da wohl kommen mag.
Neue Kompetenzen reichern das TCJG Team an und feuern einen Perspektivenwechsel an.

Es ist wieder Ende Februar. Zeit für einen TCJG Visions-Workshop. Den planen wir gerade für März. Noch im Lock Down. Sei es drum. Wie virtuelle Visionsworkshops funktionieren, wissen und können wir inzwischen auch.

Sich wieder der Zukunft zuzuwenden macht richtig Laune. Die TCJG Future Journey 3.0 hat begonnen.
Wir berichten weiter über den nächsten Reiseabschnitt.